Wednesday, September 2, 2009

The day before the first weigh-in....

Hmm... tomorrow is the first weigh-in, and I have no clue how I'm feeling about it. I THINK I've lost weight, but I'm not sure... And if I don't start doing some exercise soon, losing weight is going to be pointless, as I'll just be LOOSE flabby skin instead of just flabby!

As for my mother's comment that I'm just doing it to be "beautiful", I hate to disagree with her, but... Part of it is that I just don't like the way I feel at this weight. I've always joked that when I can see my belly under my boobs (and given the size of those, it would be a pretty impressive belly..) it's time to lose weight - and while I'm not QUITE at that point yet, I feel like I'm not too far off it. Another part is that doctors have been saying for years that I'm clinically obese (ridiculous thought if you just look at me), but with a BMI of 30.4%, I am technically obese. Another part is support - we all know that if you do something alone you are less likely to succeed than if you do it in partnership with others, if for no other reason than moral support. On my own, I'd likely do nothing whatsoever about losing weight other than ask on occasion if my clothes make me look fat. With my mom & sister involved, I'm likely to do more - as are they. So we support each other and hopefully we'll all reach good goals. And yes, part of it is wanting to have a slimmer figure - I can fully admit that there are fewer & fewer photos of me that I like as I just think I look too big in them! So yes, part of it is beauty related, I guess!

Having said all of that, yesterday was not a particularly good food day for me. I had my cereal & milk for breakfast, then went to the first picnic with Mom at lunchtime. One sloppy joe, a little couscous (is that really bad for you?) a few tortilla chips, a banana bread & cream cheese sandwich, a little salad, a little pasta later... I managed to avoid the desserts (peach pie, coconut pie), but to be absolutely honest, if I'd had to go into the gas station I stopped at one the way home to fill up, I'd have bought one of EVERY sweet thing in there and gobbled it all up quickly! Instead, I paid at the pump (thank heavens for the convenience!), came home and attacked the fruit salad...

Then I went to work, and found that boredom really is a very big hunger-manufacturer. It was a very quiet afternoon, and by the time I came home on my break at 5pm, I was HUNGRY - so I finished off the poor man's stroganoff (with 2 slices of bread) and a Diet Coke - and a slice of sugarfree angel food cake for dessert.

I did, however, count the number of steps it takes to go from one end of the store to the other - something I do a fair bit when I'm in my Head Cashier hat. It's +/- 225 steps - which I did at least 3 times yesterday. I wonder how many steps you take to cover a mile? I really need to get a pedometer - then I'd know how far I'd walked each day!

So now today it's back on the wagon. I've had my cereal & milk this morning, as well as a good large serving of fruit salad (it's a really good salad!). I go to work at 2pm again today, but I'm in my Customer Service hat today, so won't cover anywhere near as much ground.

Which brings me back to really needing to start exercising... Hmm....

No comments:

Post a Comment