Monday, August 31, 2009

bad end to a good day....sigh

Okay, so I should not have been so boastful earlier. You see.....dieting with a full time job, plus 3 kids, plus a totally insane schedule is more then a little complicated! Plus, Esther put into my mind that maybe not going cold turkey on the soda is okay...and maybe just try one a day. Suggestions like that KILL me. So...I gave in and had a soda. Then my afternoon schedule got completely out of control, and so we ended up at Chick-Fil-A for dinner. Almost disaterous. I ordered a grilled chicken sandwich, NO fries, but a small peach shake. Okay, Okay, that was bad. So, the sandwich was AWFUL, so I ended up not even eating half of it.....but the shake was, ofcourse, yummy...so I sucked that on down.....SO...does half a sandwich and a small Peach shake equal out okay? Certainly not on the health food front, but maybe on the caloric intake front I may just be alright...we will see on Thursday....
NO DESSERT.....well, maybe a peice of fruit or a yogurt......
AND why is no one else posting???

4 comments:

  1. Don't restrict yourself too much or you will fail. It is ok that you had that shake if your only going out every once in a while. If your going out everyday its completely different.

    Ha ha I am full of good tips after living with a freaking health nut for 10 years. But yes like you following them with my kids and my schedule is a totally different story!

    good luck!

    ReplyDelete
  2. hey thanks for your encouragement....I am excited that you and Chelsea are giving up sodas too...that is great....I know how bad they are for us, but they are SOOO adictive...
    Hope you are doing well....take care
    Eileen

    ReplyDelete
  3. This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  4. They are terribly addictive! I have "given them up" repeatedly but this time as were doing it together it is much easier. Tomorrow we are going to buy a blender so we can start having smoothies. I think that will be a big win win for us.

    We are all doing really well. Chris has his first game (the first one he actually will play in) on Thursday, Chelsea is doing great in her business class (she was selected without application and given a full scholarship) and luckily since it gets out at the same time as football it means I do not have to make any extra trips out. The rest of the kids are all doing great as well. I feel like we never stop going but that is life :)
    We are doing pretty well with our "lifestyle change". I refuse to let my 16 year old diet but since she has gained some weight and has those genes we have decided to make changes in our whole families way of eating. It is a struggle for all of us but its something we should have been doing all along. Giving up soda was a part of that but there is so much more involved as I know you know.
    With not having a gym at my disposal anymore we have joined Curves. At first I balked at the idea because it wasn't a "real" gym but I have to say it fits our lifestyle perfectly. I know your all looking for exercise options so I recommend it. For Chelsea and I its $42 a month and takes 30 minutes a day. Since my day is spent driving or working on the computer it is sometimes all the exercise I have time for.

    Anyways, my comment wasn't meant to be a blog unto itself! I think its great that you all are doing this together and I admit I am a little jealous of the relationship you three share. Hold onto it as its precious!

    Talk to you soon,
    Denita

    ReplyDelete