Tuesday, January 26, 2010

Don't you just love doctors??

You know, I am convinced that doctors simply tell you it's all in your head if they can't figure out what's wrong with you. I went to see an ENT specialist today for my ongoing (13 days and counting) and recurring voicelessness. He stuck a camera up my nose & down my throat, looked around for a minute, then told me that there's absolutely nothing wrong with my vocal chords & therefore the only explanation for my (ongoing, and recurrent) voice loss must be that it is psychosomatic - although that was the word my mom used, because the doctor was "reluctant" to use that particular word. But cut it however you want to cut it, what he was basically saying is that I am somehow making myself voiceless! As if!! I mean, what logical - or for that matter, illogical! - reason could I possibly have for making myself lose my voice - thus making it hard (and sometimes impossible, as in the last 10 days, impossible) for me to work, and potentially lose my income for a period of time???? That makes absolutely no sense to me... but hey, I'm not the genius with the medical degree hanging on the wall that gets to make such lofty pronouncements!!!

There, now that I've got that off my chest.... !

The diet / FRP / whatever you want to call this experiment is going really well for all three of us, and I am so proud of the progress that each of us has made so far. I know I've been lousy at blogging - I keep starting out with such good intentions, then getting nowhere with them! - but I really am impressed with the fact that we're all still dedicated to this experiment, at least! As Mom posted last, we have all lost quite a bit of weight: Eileen is doing really well, given that she is surrounded by children and temptation all day every day - her 18lb loss is great! She is about to undergo surgery, too, which will doubtless give her a great advantage over the rest of us: I have no idea what a uterus weighs, but I'm guessing she's probably going to lose about 10lbs pretty quickly!

As for Mom, she has made her goal weight for her trip to London, and is SOOOO psyched about it, it's really fun to watch her! She's actually pretty close to meeting her overall goal, which is fantastic - especially given that we've technically still got about 5 months to go on this challenge! She's also looking fantastic: she doesn't remember the last time she was under 200lbs, so this is really a great time for her. We're going shopping on Friday to get her new - SMALLER - clothes for her trip, and we're both really looking forward to that!

Then there's me... I would NEVER have thought that I would lose this much weight quite this quickly. At the last weigh-in I was down to 201 lbs - that's a loss of 33 lbs in 4.5 months!! I don't think I've been that weight since I was a teenager - and THAT'S a long time ago!!! I finally gave in and put a new hole in my belt just before Christmas - and I'm just about at the point of needing to put another one. My new jeans, also bought shortly before Christmas, as beginning to feel a little loose around the waist... I so look forward to fitting into a size 14! That really will be a first since high school - and possibly even before then!

Anyway, tomorrow is weigh-in day, so we'll probably find that I've gained 10 lbs since the last one - although I sincerely hope not! I will update the weight chart tomorrow with all the latest data, so watch this space for more news!

No comments:

Post a Comment